NAECA 2015 and Energy Star V 3.0

NAECA 2015 and Energy Star v 3.0

The NAECA Guidelines
The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is tasked with regulating the minimum energy efficiency requirements for all water heaters. One of the main set of regulations is the National Appliance Energy Conservation Act (NAECA). This regulation was most recently updated in 2010, with an effective date of April 16, 2015.

Q. What are the new minimum regulations for water heaters?

NAECA updated the minimum operating efficiency of tankless water heaters from Energy Factor (EF) ≥ 0.62 to EF ≥ 0.82. They also made significant changes to residential tank type water heaters for both gas and electric fuel sources.

Q. Will the change in regulations result in any changes for the Noritz product line?

No. As a leader in the tankless water heating industry, Noritz is already only manufacturing units that meet or exceed the new minimum energy efficiency requirements. Rest assured that Noritz will continue to provide even higher value products that continue to exceed any minimum requirements set forth by the government.

Q. How will tank type water heaters be affected?

In order to meet the new revised minimums, many tanks will be significantly larger and/or taller than a comparably sized model that preceded it. As a result, there may be significant issues with replacement in tight fitting spaces such as closets or alcoves. Noritz provides the innovative EZTR40 which provides a space efficient replacement for an old 40 gallon tank. There would be no space considerations with finding a new NAECA 2015 compliant tank.

Energy Star v3.0

Energy Star is a program run by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) which seeks to highlight and promote specific products within a category that provide significant savings relative to their peers. In many cases, there are special incentives generated by local utilities to help promote the sales of these products to help reduce our overall energy usage. With the coming of the NAECA 2015 regulations, many older and lower efficient water heaters will be obsoleted. This will result in the average product being significantly more efficient than ever before. As a result, the Energy Star program is also being updated to maintain the focus of highlighting only those products deemed most efficient.

Q. When will the Energy Star program go in to effect?

The newest version of the Energy Star program for residential water heaters goes in to effect on April 16th, 2015. This date coincides exactly with the NAECA 2015 implementation.

Q. What are the major changes in the newest Energy Star Program?

The largest change is to the minimum EF from 0.82 to 0.90. This means that only tankless water heaters incorporating condensing technology will continue to be Energy Star qualified products. The minimum required warranty for tankless water heaters will also be adjusted from a minimum of 12 years on the heat exchanger to 6 years.

Q. Will Noritz change the terms of the warranty on any product?

No. Noritz is dedicated to manufacturing only the highest quality products. We have no plans to reduce the warranty coverage currently offered on our products.

Q. What will this change mean for me as a homeowner/contractor/distributor?

After April 16th, 2015, Noritz is required to remove references to Energy Star for all units that are NAECA 2015 compliant (EF ≥ 0.82) but below the 0.90 requirement in print/web literature, along with any newly manufactured water heater marking. Any product already produced can continue to bear the mark and be sold/installed/used.

Q. Will the Energy Star program changes have any effect on gas rebates?

As each gas program is unique, you should contact your local gas supplier for more details. In general, however, the gas rebate programs are tiered based on the EF values themselves rather than simply being Energy Star qualified. Programs related to the EF alone will not be affected.

Q. Which models of Noritz tankless water heaters will still be Energy Star qualified under v3.0?

All units that fall within our “NR” series will no longer be Energy Star listed. Any unit that is listed under our “NRC” series will continue to bear the Energy Star logo.